MVC Announces Women's Soccer Scholar-Athlete Team
Monday, November 12, 2012

Every year, the Missouri Valley Conference recognizes individuals in each sport for their accomplishments in the classroom. Twelve women's soccer players were recognized today on behalf of the conference offices. These athletes posted a collective GPA of 3.89. Anna Stinson of Illinois State and Stephanie Thompson of Evansville have maintained flawless 4.00 GPAs, both majoring in Exercise Science.

A total of 29 student-athletes were nominated for the Valley’s scholar-athlete team. The criteria for the honor parallels the CoSIDA standards for Academic All-America voting. Nominees must be starters or important reserves with at least a 3.20 cumulative gpa (on a 4.00 scale).  Also, students must have participated in at least 75 percent of the regular-season matches or the MVC Championship.  Student-athletes must have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at their institution (true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were not eligible) and must have completed at least one full academic year at their institution.  Sports Information Directors at MVC institutions voted for the team.

On top of the honors received by the MVC, juniors Anna Stinson and Kyla Cross of Illinois State, and seniors Michelle Sommer and Chelsea Voet of Missouri State were named to the Capitol One Academic All-District First Teams of their respective regions. Stephanie Thompson was a Second Team selection in District Five.

The Capitol One Academic All-District teams can be seen here:



Allie Brees, UNI

^Kristin Cooley, Illinois State

^Kyla Cross, Illinois State

^Kiki McClellan, UNI

Aubrie Musselman, Indiana State

Allie Newsom, Illinois State

*^#%Michelle Sommer, Missouri State

*#%Anna Stinson, Illinois State

*&Stephanie Thompson, Evansville

Shelby Troyer, Indiana State

%Chelsea Voet, Missouri State

*^#%Nia Williams, Missouri State


Honorable Mention

Sam Copley, UNI

^Grace Cross, Missouri State

Kelsey Fouch, Missouri State

Danielle Langness, Evansville

Aryn Newsom, Illinois State

Kelsey Pigg, Drake

*indicates repeat selection to league's first team unit; ^indicates previous honorable mention selection; #indicates 2011 CoSIDA Academic All-District First Team; %indicates 2012 CoSIDA Academic All-District First Team; &indicates 2012 CoSIDA Academic All-District Second Team