Kalin Named Senior CLASS Award Finalist
Wednesday, February 6, 2013

OVERLAND PARK, Kan. – UNI's Jacqui Kalin has been named one of 10 finalists for the 2012-13 Senior CLASS Award, it was announced today by the committee. Kalin is one of 10 NCAA women’s basketball student-athletes who excel both on and off the court.
Kalin leads the team in points this season with 392 total points, averaging 18.7 points per game. She has scored 20-plus points in 11 games this season, including two double-doubles. She is currently the all-time leader at UNI in three-pointers made and is tied for the lead at UNI in free throws made. She is 40 points shy of tying for the UNI all-time career scoring leader and currently has 1,811 career points.
Kalin is currently ranked 31st in the NCAA in scoring with her 18.7 points per game and is first nationally with her 95 percent free throw average. She has been named the MVC Player of the Week four times this season.
She graduated with her undergraduate degree “Summa Cum Laude” in Sport Psychology in 2010 and is currently working on defending her thesis for her masters in Kinesiology and Sport Psychology.
She is an active member and the MVC representative for the NCAA Division I National Student Athlete Advisory Committee and is an active member of the NCAA Division I Women’s Basketball Issues Committee. Kalin was the UNI Co-President of the SAAC from the spring of 2010 to the spring of 2012 and is a member of the UNI Intercollegiate Athletics Advisory Council.
Kalin has volunteered as a Big Sister for the Big Brothers, Big Sisters of Northeast Iowa program along with the Global Forum for Physical Education. She has also been a part of Relay for Like, Habitat for Humanity, House of Hope, CharacterCounts, the Special Olympics and Just Read.
To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence – community, classroom, character and competition.
An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.
Nationwide fan voting begins immediately to help select the winner. Fans are encouraged to vote on the Senior CLASS Award website (www.seniorclassaward.com) or on the Senior CLASS Award Facebook fan page through March 25. Fan votes will be combined with media and Division I head coaches’ votes to determine the winner.
The women’s Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the NCAA Women’s Final Four in New Orleans April 7 and 9.
Women’s Finalists
Brittany Chambers, Kansas State
Layshia Clarendon, California
Elena Delle Donne, Delaware
Skylar Diggins, Notre Dame
Jacqui Kalin, Northern Iowa
Kevi Luper, Oral Roberts
Anna Martin, DePaul
Drey Mingo, Purdue
Chelsea Poppens, Iowa State
Jaime Printy, Iowa