Creighton, Indiana State and Evansville Named to WBCA Top 25 Academic Honor Roll
Monday, July 25, 2011

ATLANTA - The Women's Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced its winners for the 2010-11 Academic Top 25 Team Honor Roll. This award, given in NCAA Division I, NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III, NAIA and Junior College/Community College, awards teams throughout the nation that carry the highest grade point averages (GPA) for the entire season based on the nomination submitted by WBCA-member head coaches.

Three Missouri Valley Conference teams - Creighton (4th, 3.527 GPA), Indiana State (6th, 3.518) and Evansville (24th, 3.340) were named to the honor roll for the 2010-11 academic school year.

Division Institution 2010-11 Head Coach GPA
NCAA I South Dakota State Aaron Johnson 3.666
NCAA II Fort Lewis Mark Kellogg 3.715
NCAA III Case Western Reserve Jennifer Reimer 3.609
NAIA Great Falls Bill Himmelberg 3.652
JC/CC Sweard County Toby Wynn 3.527

"With the increased importance and scrutiny of the APR (academic progress rate) in the landcape of intercollegiate athletics, these remarkable teams are setting the bar for academic excellence," said WBCA CEO Beth Bass. "Congratulations to all these STUDENT-athletes and their coaches."

A team’s GPA is calculated by dividing the total number of quality points earned by the total number of hours attempted by all team members in the academic terms (semesters or quarters) that the season spans. Weighted grades are converted to a 4.0 scale. The GPAs are rounded to the nearest thousandth of a point. Teams are nominated for the honor by a WBCA-member head coach. A team must have a 3.000 or better GPA to be nominated.

The WBCA Academic Top 25 Team Honor Roll for NCAA Division I is as follows:

Rank Institution 2010-11 Head Coach GPA
1 South Dakota State Aaron Johnston 3.666
2 Bucknell Kathy Fedorjaka 3.632
3 DePaul Douglas Bruno 3.582
4 Creighton Jim Flanery 3.527
5 Utah Valley  Cathy Nixon 3.524
6 Indiana State Teri Moren 3.518 
7 Hartford  Jennifer Rizzoti 3.456 
8 New Mexico Don Flanagan 3.454 
9 Dayton James Jabir 3.445 
10 Canisius College Terrence Zeh 3.441 
11 Bowling Green Curt Miller  3.433 
12 Montana State  Tricia Binford 3.419 
13 Montana Robin Selvig 3.411 
14 Akron  Jodi Kest 3.405 
15 Wisconsin-Milwaukee Sandy Botham 3.402 
16 Oakland Beckie Francis 3.399 
17 Youngstown State Robert Boldon 3.395 
18 South Dakota Ryun Williams 3.390 
19 Wisconsin-Green Bay Matthew Bollant 3.378 
20 Maryland-Baltimore County Phil Stern 3.374 
21 Lipscomb Frank Bennett 3.373 
T22 North Dakota Gene Roebuck 3.358 
T22 Northern Colorado Jaime White 3.358 
24 Evansville Misty Murphy 3.340 
25 Denver Erik Johnson 3.335