Valley Announces 2014 Scholar-Athlete Teams
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Valley Announces 2014 Scholar-Athlete Teams

ST. LOUIS, Mo. -- The Missouri Valley Conference has announced the men’s and women’s tennis Scholar-Athlete teams, honoring 27 student-athletes for their academic and athletic performances.  Thirteen student-athletes are making their return to the Scholar-Athlete team this year, with nine receiving first team honors for at least the second year. On the women's side, Heather Nisbet, Phyllis Tigges, Anita Lee, Montse Blasco Fernandez, and Veronika Blaskova return from last year's first team. For the men, four players including Ashton Kalhorn, Robin Goodman, Alen Salibasic and Rafael Cuadrillero from last year's first team once again make appearances. 

Scholar-Athlete honors require athletes to meet performance standards to be eligible for selection.  A student-athlete must hold a cumulative 3.2 GPA, be at least a sophomore in athletic and academic standing, and have participated in 75% of the regular season or projected participation in the MVC Championship to earn a spot on the MVC Scholar-Athlete team.


2014 Men's Tennis Scholar-Athlete First Team

Ashton Kalhorn, Bradley

Arthur Romanet, Bradley

Hamish Weerasinghe, Bradley

Robin Goodman, Drake

Ben Mullis, Drake

Alen Salibasic, Drake

Jakub Eisner, Illinois State

Rolando Torrellas, Illinois State

Jacob Wilson, Illinois State

Rafael Cuadrillero, Southern Illinois

Jonny Rigby, Southern Illinois





2014 Women's Tennis Scholar-Athlete First Team

Carly Miles, Bradley

Maddie Johnson, Drake

Kelsey Costales, Evansville

Kadi Ilves, Illinois State

Heather Nisbet, Illinois State

Phyllis Tigges, Illinois State

Anita Lee, Southern Illinois

Korey Love, Southern Illinois

Montse Blasco Fernadez, Wichita State

Veronika Blaskova, Wichita State

Lucia Kovalova, Wichita State 

2014 Women's Tennis Scholar-Athlete Honorable Mention

Adele Henke, Bradley

Marketa Trousilova, Evansville

Gisela Cairo Baza, Southern Illinois

Natasha Tomishima, Southern Illinois

Rebecca Pedrazzi, Wichita State