Valley Announces 2014 All-Conference Honors
Thursday, April 24, 2014
Valley Announces 2014 All-Conference Honors

ST. LOUIS, Mo. -- The Missouri Valley Conference has announced the 2014 men's and women's tennis All-Conference teams, with representation from six different conference schools between the men's and women's selections. Student-athletes named to the All-Conference team were honored at the annual Missouri Valley Conference tennis awards banquet Thursday evening in Normal, Ill., preceding the Valley Team Tennis Championship hosted by Illinois State University.

The Drake Bulldogs captured the Missouri Valley Conference men's regular season title posting a flawless 4-0 conference season record.  Five individuals from Drake were named to the All-Conference team and one to the All-Select team. Wichita State, entering the conference tournament as the No. 2 seed with just one conference loss this season, claimed two spots on the All-Select team. The Salukis were represented by Jonny Rigby and Freshman of the Year Michal Kianicka, who claimed three different awards (Freshman of the Year, All-Conference Doubles, All-Select).

Drake's No. 1 singles player Alen Salibasic was named MVC Player of the Year, after recording an impressive 3-1 conference record this season.  Freshman of the Year goes to Southern Illinois' Michal Kianicka. Kianicka earned All-Conference honors this season at the No. 1 doubles spot, All-Select honors and finished Valley play with a 3-1 record in singles. Co-honorees were recognized as Men's Coaches of the Year. Davidson Kozlowski of Drake led his Bulldogs to a 4-0 conference record and an overal 20-5 mark. His co-honoree, Dann Nelson of Southern Illinois, led the Salukis to a 10-10 record, 2-2 in the MVC. Both coaches' teams were well represented on the all-conference and scholar-athlete lists. 

The Wichita State women clinched the Missouri Valley Conference regular-season title with a perfect 6-0 conference record, and will enter the conference championship as the top seed for the sixth year in a row. Wichita State claimed three singles spots on the all-conference team as well as one doubles pairings. Players from Drake, Illinois State, and Southern Illinois all received honors as well.  The All-Select team represents individuals from Drake, Evansville, Illinois State, Southern Illinois and Wichita State, and is comprised of four top-flight players, a No. 2 singles players and a No. 3 singles player.

Wichita State's Julia Schiller was selected as the women’s Valley Player of the Year for the first time, after registering a 6-0 conference record at No. 1 singles.  Freshman of the Year was rewarded to Ariel Dechter of Bradley. Dechter stepped up for the Braves this year, playing at No. 2 singles and registering an overall 9-9 record. Missouri Valley Conference Coach of the Year is Wichita State's Colin Foster. Coach Foster led his team to a 6-0 mark in conference match play, and helped lead the Shockers to yet another regular season title. 

The All- Conference team is comprised of one individual from each of the six singles flight classes, as well as three doubles teams from each of the doubles flight classes. In addition, six other individuals are chosen regardless of flight distinction and are named to an "All-Select" Team. Individuals earning selection to the All-Conference singles team via the flight-selection process are not eligible for the at-large select team. The All-Conference team is chosen by a vote of league coaches.

2014 Valley Men's Tennis All-Conference

No. 1 – Alen Salibasic, Drake
No. 2 – Jorge Cavero, Southern Illinois
No. 3 – Robin Goodman, Drake
No. 4 – Matt Frost, Drake
No. 5 – Ravi Patel, Drake
No. 6 – Ben Mullis, Drake

Ben Lott, Drake
Erik Brunskog, Illinois State
Michal Kianicka, Southern Illinois
Jonny Rigby, Southern Illinois
Ilija Cuic, Wichita State
Tin Ostojic, Wichita State
No. 1 – Michal Kianicka/Jonny Rigby, Southern Illinois
No. 2 – Ben Mullis/Alen Salbasic, Drake
No. 3 – Matt Frost/Ravi Patel, Drake

Player of the Year:
Alen Salibasic, Drake

Freshman of the Year:
Michal Kianicka, Southern Illinois

Coach of the Year:
Davidson Kozlowski, Drake
Dann Nelson, Southern Illinois

2014 Valley Women's Tennis All-Conference 

No. 1 – Julia Schiller, Wichita State
No. 2 – Rebecca Pedrazzi, Wichita State
No. 3 – Maddie Johnson, Drake
No. 4 – Nell Boyd, Drake
No. 5 – Jordan Eggleston, Drake
No. 6 – Veronika Blaskova, Wichita State

Klavdija Rebol, Drake
Marketa Trousilova, Evansville
Phyllis Tigges, Illinois State
Anita Lee, Southern Illinois
Natasha Tomishima, Southern Illinois
Lucia Kovalova, Wichita State

No. 1 – Madeliene Baillon/Phyllis Tigges, Illinois State
No. 2 – Anita Lee/Korey Love, Southern Illinois
No. 3 – Julia Schiller/Abby Stevens, Wichita State

Player of the Year:
Julia Schiller, Wichita State

Freshman of the Year:
Ariel Dechter, Bradley

Coach of the Year:
Colin Foster, Wichita State