Valley Announces 2013 Scholar-Athlete Team
Thursday, April 25, 2013

ST. LOUIS, Mo. -- The Missouri Valley Conference has announced the men’s and women’s tennis Scholar-Athlete teams, honoring 30 student-athletes for their academic and athletic performances.  Twelve student-athletes are making their return to the Scholar-Athlete team this year, with eight receiving first team honors for at least the second year. On the women's side, Carolina Abello, Chelsea Moore, Melanie Delsart, Anita Lee, and Veronika Blaskova return from last year's first team. For the men, four players including Alexander Pelaez, Matheus Pereira, Ashton Kalhorn, and Juan Diego Cuadrado from last year's first team once again make appearances.

Scholar-Athlete honors require athletes to meet performance standards to be eligible for selection.  A student-athlete must hold a cumulative 3.2 GPA, be at least a sophomore in athletic and academic standing, and have participated in 75% of the regular season or projected participation in the MVC Championship to earn a spot on the MVC Scholar-Athlete team.


2013 Men's Tennis Scholar-Athlete First Team

Ashton Kalhorn, Bradley

Juan Diego Cuadrado, Bradley

Sean Mathison, Creighton

Ryan Norman, Creighton

Robin Goodman, Drake

Alen Salibasic, Drake

Erik Brunskog, Illinois State

Alexander Pelaez, Illinois State

Rafael Cuadrillero, Southern Illinois

Matheus Pereira, Wichita State

2013 Men's Tennis Scholar-Athlete Honorable Mention

Arthur Romanet, Bradley

Jean Erasmus, Drake

Badr Cherradi, Southern Illinois

Tomislav Gregurovic, Wichita State



2013 Women's Tennis Scholar-Athlete First Team

Jennie Hartjes, Creighton

Carolina Abello, Illinois State

Heather Nisbet, Illinois State

Phyllis Tigges, Illinois State

Chelsea Moore, Northern Iowa

Melanie Delsart, Southern Illinois

Anita Lee, Southern Illinois

Anastacia Simons, Southern Illinois

Veronika Blaskova, Wichita State

Montse Blasco Fernandez, Wichita State

2013 Women's Tennis Scholar-Athlete Honorable Mention

Carly Miles, Bradley

Analese Snyder, Creighton

Anna Kirshenbaum, Creighton

Ali Patterson, Drake

Korey Love, Southern Illinois

Natasha Tomishima, Southern Illinois