2007 All-Missouri Valley Conference Women's Soccer Team
Friday, November 9, 2007

Illinois State’s Yvonne Northover has been voted the 2007 Missouri Valley Conference Women’s Soccer Most Valuable Player by conference coaches.  The senior helped lead the Redbirds to their first regular-season conference title since 2003, their first outright title since 2001, and the No. 1 seed in this year’s championship.  She leads the Valley in conference matches with 11 points and five goals and was also named to the all-MVC first team.  The Valley announced its post-season honors Thursday night in a pre-tournament banquet in Evansville, Ind.

Additionally, Missouri State’s Jackie Jasper is the league’s defensive MVP.  The junior goalkeeper recorded a 0.47 goals against average in league play while also notching a .903 save percentage.  In six conference games, she led the league with four shutouts.

Evansville boasts four first-team all-Missouri Valley Conference honorees.  Nicole Zygmontowicz (D), Mia Tofano (F), Heidi Grey (MF) and Julie Winkler (MF) were all first-team honorees.  Grey’s first-team nod is her second straight. Jasper earned first team all-conference as a goalkeeper, the only other honoree who earned the all-conference nod two year’s in a row.  Joining Jasper, representing the Bears on the first team is Allison Osmundson.

Rounding out the all-conference first-team are defender Sam Russell and forward Marcy Gans of Creighton and defender Amy Seubert of Northern Iowa and Illinois State’s Raquel Rattray, a midfielder wild card selection. 
 In addition to specialty awards to Northover and Jasper, Creighton’s Emily Orbell was named the Valley’s 2007 Freshman of the Year.  In conference play, the freshman tallied three goals and one assist for seven points, which ranked sixth in the league.  Her three goals also ranked tied for fifth overall in goals scored against Valley foes.

Illinois State’s coaching staff, led by head coach first-year head coach Drew Roff, was voted MVC Coaching Staff of the Year, a new award that replaces the coach of the year honor.  His staff includes Shawn Mecchi, Shaunna Daugherty.

The All-Missouri Valley Conference Team was honored at a banquet Thursday night in Evansville, Ind., prior to the semifinals and final of the 2007 State Farm MVC Women’s Soccer Championship, slated for Nov. 9 and 11.  No. 1 Illinois State faces No. 4 Drake at 5 p.m. on Friday evening followed by No. 2 Evansville versus No. 3 Creighton.  The winners face-off in the Championship game, slated for 1 p.m. on Sunday, Nov. 11 and to air live on FSN Midwest.

Marcy Gans Creighton F Jr. Raymore, Mo. (Archbishop O’Hara) 
*Heidi Grey Evansville MF Sr. Port Orchard, Wash. (King’s West)
*Jackie Jasper Missouri State GK Jr. Lockport, Ill. (Township)
Yvonne Northover Illinois State MF Sr. Calgary, Alberta (Lord Beaverbrook)
Allison Osmundson Missouri State MF Jr. Marshalltown, Iowa (Marshalltown)
Raquel Rattray Illinois State MF So. Evanston, Ill. (Evanston Township)
Sam Russell Creighton D Sr. Stilwell, Kan. (Blue Valley West)
Amy Seubert Northern Iowa D Sr. Minnetonka, Minn. (Minnetonka)
Mia Tofano Evansville F Jr. Las Vegas, Nev. (Bonanza)
Julie Winkler Evansville MF Jr. Florissant, Mo. (St. Joseph’s Academy)
Nicole Zygmontowicz Evansville D Sr. Bremerton, Wash. (Central Kitsap)
*Repeat first team selection


Sarah Foote Drake F Sr. Arvada, Colo. (Pomona)
Katie Grill-Donovan Illinois State GK So. Calgary, Alberta (Bishop Carroll)
Kayla Lambert Evansville F Jr. Las Vegas, Nevada (Palo Verde)
Danielle Mutters Illinois State D So. Darien, Ill. (Hinsdale South)
Emily Orbell Creighton MF Fr. White Bear Lake, Minn. (White Bear Lake)
Alyssa Ramsey Indiana State D Jr. Brecksville, Ohio (Walsh Jesuit HS)
Jordan Reppell Missouri State D Fr. St. Louis, Mo. (St. Joseph’s Academy)
Nikki Thaden Drake MF Sr. Clive, Iowa (Univ. of Texas)
Crystal Townley Drake MF So. Colorado Springs, Colo. (Palmer)
Ali Walsh Drake F Fr. Florissant, Mo. (Hazelwood Central)
Sarah Whiteley Indiana State F Sr. West Lafayette, Ind. (Harrison)

HONORABLE MENTION: Tara Bailey, Creighton, Kristin Casey, Creighton; Melissa Lewis, Drake, Blair Nelson, Drake; Kara Murphy, Evansville; Ammanda Wisniewski, Illinois State; Lauren Podolski, Indiana State; Samantha Aguilar, Missouri State, Megan Beebe, Missouri State; Chelsie Hochstedler, Northern Iowa

Katie Anderson Drake D Naperville, Ill. (Naperville North)
Theresa Bagby Evansville GK Golden, Colo. (Ralston Valley)
Bethany Brown Illinois State MF Vernon Hills, Ill. (Vernon Hills)
Christine Cross  Missouri State  MF Lake Lotawana, Mo. (Lee’s Summit North High)
Ellen Gittemeier Indiana State MF Overland Park, Kan. (St. Thomas Aquinas)
Chelsie Hochstedler Northern Iowa MF Marion, Iowa (Linn Mar)
Emily Orbell Creighton MF White Bear Lake, Minn. (White Bear Lake)
Sara Ornelas Evansville MF Burr Ridge, Ill. (Lyons Township)
Jordan Reppell Missouri State D St. Louis, Mo. (St. Joseph’s Academy)
Shannon Russell Missouri State D Stilwell, Kan. (Blue Valley West)
Alyssa Schulz Illinois State F  Maple Grove, Minn. (Maple Grove)
Kristin Thuve  Evansville D Huntington Beach, Calif. (Huntington Beach)
Ali Walsh Drake F Florissant, Mo. (Hazelwood Central)

PLAYER OF THE YEAR:  Yvonne Northover, Illinois State
DEFENSIVE PLAYER OF THE YEAR: Jackie Jasper, Missouri State
FRESHMAN OF THE YEAR: Emily Orbell, Creighton
COACHING STAFF OF THE YEAR: Illinois State (Drew Roff, Shawn Mecchi, Shaunna Daugherty)