Gomez Named MAC Hermann Trophy Finalist
Friday, December 7, 2012

Creighton senior Jose Gomez was named a finalist for the 2012 Missouri Athletic Club's (MAC) Hermann Trophy on Thursday, Dec. 6.

The MAC Hermann Trophy is the highest individual honor in college soccer.  A banquet will be hosted at the Missouri Athletic Club in St. Louis on Friday, Jan. 11, to recognize the finalists' accomplishments and announce the winners. NCAA Division I coaches who are National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) members voted for their top three choices. Additionally, a new fan voting component was added to this year’s voting process, hosted by LockerDome, through which nearly 130,000 total fan votes were cast.

Gomez selection as a finalist marks the second consecutive season that a Bluejay has made the final three.  In 2011, Ethan Finley was the MAC Trophy runner-up.  The only other Creighton player to be named a finalist for the MAC Hermann Trophy was current Creighton assistant coach Johnny Torres, who won the award in 1997.

A midfielder from Santa Ana, Calif., Gomez is the reigning 2012 Missouri Valley Conference (MVC) Player of the Year and the 2012 MVC Tournament MVP after scoring two goals at the MVC tourney to help the Jays claim their 13th Valley Tournament championship and 20th NCAA Tournament appearance.

The 2012 First Team All-MVC selection has started all 23 matches for Creighton this season. Gomez ranks No. 20 nationally with nine assists this season, including an assist in the final 90 seconds of the Bluejays 1-0 win over Connecticut on Dec. 2 to advance to their second consecutive College Cup.

The senior co-captain stands at No. 69 in the country with 21 points this season (6 goals, 9 assists). Gomez is second in the MVC with 61 total shots. He has launched at least one shot attempt in each match this season and recorded a shot on goal in 16 contests.
Earlier this season he earned an assist on all three CU goals at Princeton (10/9), the first Bluejay to accomplish the feat since Nov. 8, 2008,
The finalists for the MAC Hermann Trophy award were announced Thursday by the NSCAA. Joining Gomez as finalists are Notre Dame senior forward Ryan Finley and Maryland junior forward Patrick Mullins.

Link to MAC Hermann Award Finalist Release: http://www.nscaa.com/news/2012/12/2012-mac-herman-finalists