MVC Announces MBB Scholar-Athlete Team
Monday, March 11, 2013

   ST. LOUIS -- Colt Ryan of Evansville highlights a list of 13 student-athletes honored as part of the 2013 MVC Scholar-Athlete Teams, announced today by the league office. Last Thursday, the senior from Batesville, Ind., was tabbed the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Voting for the 2013 MVC Scholar-Athlete Team was conducted by league’s sports information directors.

 Ryan is the second Evansville player to earn Scholar-Athlete of the Year honors (the program began in 2002). Evansville’s Jason Holsinger shared the league’s Scholar-Athlete of the Year award with SIU’s Bryan Mullins in 2009. He also becomes just the third league player to win Scholar Athlete of the Year honors twice, joining Neil Plank of Illinois State (2005 and 2006) and Kent Williams of Southern Illinois (2002 and 2003).

 Ryan is joined on the first-team unit by Jordan Clarke of Drake, Walt Lemon, Jr., of Bradley, Ehimen Orukpe of Wichita State, Nathan Scheer of Missouri State, and Ethan Wragge of Creighton.

 The second-team unit consists of Jake Eastman of Bradley, Lucas Eitel and Justin Gant of Indiana State, Jon Ekey of Illinois State, Christian Kirk of Missouri State, and Austin Pehl and Chip Rank of UNI.

 The criteria for the Missouri Valley Conference’s Scholar-Athlete Team voting parallels the CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America) standards for Capital One Academic All-America voting. Nominees must be starters or important reserves with at least a 3.20 cumulative grade-point average (4.0 scale). Student-athletes must have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at their institution (true freshmen and redshirt freshmen were not eligible) and must have completed at least one full academic year at their institution. He must have played in 75 percent of his team’s games, or played in the MVC Championship this past week.

Jordan Clarke, Drake
Walt Lemon, Jr., Bradley
Ehimen Orukpe, Wichita State
Colt Ryan, Evansville
Nathan Scheer, Missouri State
Ethan Wragge, Creighton

Jake Eastman, Bradley
Lucas Eitel, Indiana State
Jon Ekey, Illinois State
Justin Gant, Indiana State
Christian Kirk, Missouri State
Austin Pehl, UNI
Chip Rank, UNI