Marshall Named Valley's Top Coach
Thursday, March 1, 2012

  ST. LOUIS -- For the fifth time in school history, a Wichita State coach has won the MVC Coach of the Year award, as Wichita State men's head coach Gregg Marshall has earned the honor for 2011-12.

 Marshall is in his fifth season as the coach of the Shockers and has guided WSU to a 26-4 record, 16-2 conference record and No. 14 national ranking. The Shockers own the 2012 State Farm MVC Tournament's No. 1 seed after winning the regular-season title by two games over second-place Creighton.

 He received 37 of a possible 40 first-place tallies and 133 total points to outdistance Evansville's Marty Simmons and Creighton's Greg McDermott -- both finishing with 44 total points. Voting was conducted by league coaches, media and sports information directors.

 He is the first Wichita State coach to earn the top coaching honor in the MVC since Mark Turgeon took home the award in 2006 after a WSU regular-season crown. Other Shocker mentors to win the MVC Coach of the Year award include Ralph Miller (1954), Gary Thompson (1965) and Eddie Fogler (1987).

 Marshall won his 100th game at Wichita State with the defeat of Evansville on Jan. 25, and his record now stands at 108-59 at WSU. Notably, the Shockers are 55-12 over the last two seasons (27.5 wins per year), which includes a phenomenal 19-3 mark on the road (best in the NCAA). Before coming to Wichita State, he was 194-83 at Winthrop in nine seasons, and earned the Big South Coach of the Year award four times. Marshall enters this weekend with a 302-142 career record, and in 14 seasons as a head coach, he has averaged 21.6 wins a year.

 He is just the fourth coach in Wichita State history to win 100 games, and is currently fourth on the all-time wins list behind Mark Turgeon (128). Of the four Shocker coaches to reach 100 victories, he is the second-fastest behind Gene Smithson to reach that mark.

 The veteran coach brought WSU from 11 wins his first season to a school-record 29 wins in 2011 and the NIT Title, a first for the Shockers. His 2009-10 team also played in the postseason NIT, received votes in the AP poll and advanced to the MVC Tournament title game, while the 2009-10 team played in the CBI.

 Marshall, who won his 300th career game with the Sears Bracketbusters win at Davidson, came to WSU in April 2007, after completing his ninth year at the Winthrop helm, as he led the Eagles to their finest year with a third-straight Big South Conference championship, a seventh NCAA appearance and the school’s first win in the NCAA tournament.