2014 Women's Golf Scholar-Athletes
Friday, May 9, 2014
2014 Women's Golf Scholar-Athletes
Bradley's Danielle Lemek is the third-straight MVC medalist to also earn First-Team MVC Scholar-Athlete honors.

  MVC Elite 18 Award recipient Meghan Schuetz of Wichita State and 2014 Medalist and MVC Golfer of the Year Danielle Lemek of Bradley highlight the 2014 MVC Women’s Scholar-Athlete First Team, announced by the league office today.

 Five seniors, including repeat first-team selections Hadley Jennings of Drake and Cassie Rushing of Southern Illinois, are on the team, voted on by the league's golf sports information directors. Jennings and Rushing are joined by fellow seniors Sarah Boss of UNI; McCall Christopher of Indiana State; and April Ohlendorf of Loyola. The quintet of seniors is joined by the aforementioned Schuetz, sophomore Danielle Lemek of Bradley, and junior Amanda Smith of Indiana State. Smith was an honorable mention MVC Scholar-Athlete in 2013.

 Honorable-mention selections in 2014 include Estefania Acosta of Missouri State and Allison Walsh of Bradley. WSU's Schuetz was honored at the MVC Championship as the league's Elite 18 Award recipient, given to the qualifying student-athlete participating at the championship with the highest GPA. Meanwhile, Lemek becomes the third-straight medalist to also earn MVC first-team scholar-athlete honors.

   The criteria for the MVC scholar-athlete team parallels the CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America) standards for academic Capital One Academic All-America® program. Nominees must have at least a 3.20 cumulative grade point average (4.0 scale), while the student-athletes must have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at their institutions and must have participated in at least 50 percent of her team’s rounds or played at the MVC Championship.

 In addition to the eight first-team selections, an additional two student-athletes received honorable mention selection, by virtue of receiving a minimum number of votes. A total of 28 student-athletes were nominated for women’s golf scholar-athlete honors.

 Wichita State won the Missouri Valley Conference championship, April 20-22, in Springfield, Ill., and the Shockers earned selection to the NCAA Central Regional in Stillwater, Okla.

2014 Missouri Valley Conference Women’s Golf Scholar-Athlete Team
FIRST TEAM, School Yr. GPA Major Hometown

Sarah Boss, UNI Sr. 3.25 Family Services Waterloo (Iowa) West High
McCall Christopher, Indiana State Sr. 3.70 Athletic Training Lee's Summit (Mo.) North High
**Hadley Jennings, Drake Sr. 3.85 Elementary Education Trenton (Mo.) High
Danielle Lemek, Bradley So. 3.26 Marketing Doniphan (Neb.) Doniphan-Trumbull High
April Ohlendorf, Loyola Sr. 3.87 Psychology Wales (Wis.) Kettle Moraine High
**Cassie Rushing, Southern Illinois Sr. 3.76 Sport Administration Marion (Ill.) High
Meghan Schuetz, Wichita State So. 3.94 Pre-Forensic Science Bloomington (Ill.) Springboro (Ohio) High
*Amanda Smith, Indiana State Jr. 3.58 Sport Management Canton (Ohio) Jackson High

Honorable Mention Yr. GPA Major Hometown

Estefania Acosta, MSU Jr. 3.40 Business Admin. Ibague (Colombia) Colegio Champagnat/Bethune-Cookman
Allison Walsh, Bradley So. 3.93 Art Education Mt. Prospect (Ill.) High

*denotes number of times student-athlete has earned first-team scholar-athlete