Five Named As USTFCCCA All-Region Honorees
Tuesday, November 13, 2012

NEW ORLEANS – The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) recognized 450 athletes that earned All-Region awards for cross country in Division I following this weekend’s NCAA Regional Championships. Athletes of member schools that finished in the top 25 individually at one of the nine regional sites earned the honor.

The Missouri Valley Conference is represented by Indiana State's John Mascari, Southern Illinois' Brian Dixon, Bradley's Sarah McMahon, Illinois State's Rachael Brewer and Wichita State's Aliphine Tuliamuk-Bolton.

All seven members of the Florida State men’s squad earned All-Region honors. The Seminoles were the lone men’s team in the country to have their seven finish in the top 25 of their region – in this case, the South region. Tulsa, Syracuse, Oklahoma, Stanford, Georgetown, Texas, and Georgia followed with six All-Region honorees.

Among conferences, the All-Region tally for men was very tight. The SEC came away with the most nods at 23, chased closely by the Big Ten (22), Pac-12 (22), Big East (22), Big 12 (21), and ACC (18).

Just as their male counterparts, the Florida State women placed all seven runners in the South region’s top 25 and were the only team in the country to do so. Arkansas gained six All-Region plaudits while Michigan State, Weber State, Connecticut, Notre Dame, Oregon, Penn State, Washington, Georgetown, and Michigan followed with five.

The Big Ten had 29 women with All-Region honors, the most among the country’s conferences. The Pac-12 (23), SEC (23), Big East (23), ACC (22), and Big 12 (18) followed.

Louisville will host the NCAA Division I Cross Country Championships on Saturday at E.P. “Tom” Sawyer State Park.   The women’s race is slated to begin at Noon, eastern, followed by the men’s at 1:15 p.m., eastern.

A live webcast of the championships will be broadcast on

For a complete list of All-Region honorees, visit the USTFCCCA release.