MVC Announces Baseball Scholar-Athlete Teams
Monday, June 3, 2013

ST. LOUIS, Mo. – Twelve league baseball players have been named to the 2013 MVC Scholar-Athlete First team, including two unanimous selections, in Illinois State's Chad Hinshaw and Indiana State's Koby Kraemer, as voted on by the conference’s baseball sports information directors and announced by the league office today. 

Illinois State earned the most first team selections, as Hinshaw is joined by Redbirds' teammates Eric Aguilera and Zac Johnson, while Indiana State (Koby Kraemer and Devin Moore), Southern Illinois (Tyler Dray and Austin Montgomerey) and Wichita State (Garrett Bayliff and Brandon Peterson) each have two first team honorees. Bradley's Mike Tauchman, Evansville's Kevin Kaczmarski and Missouri State's Eric Cheray round out the first team selections.

Seven of the 12 first team spots are held by graduating seniors, with three juniors and two sophomores complete the makeup of the first team.

In all, seven league schools are represented on the first team, with an additional seven student-athletes named to the honorable mention team. A total of 32 student-athletes were nominated for scholar-athlete honors. 

The criteria for the Missouri Valley Conference Scholar-Athlete Team voting parallels the CoSIDA (College Sports Information Directors of America) standards for Academic All-America voting. Nominees must be starters or important reserves, with at least a 3.20 cumulative grade point average.  Student-athletes must have reached sophomore athletic and academic standing at their institution and must have completed at least one full academic year at their institution.

Name, School Year Pos. GPA Major Hometown (High School)
Eric Aguilera, Illinois State+ Sr. OF 3.27 Management Cary, Ill. (Cary-Grove)
Garrett Bayliff, Wichita State Jr. OF 3.38 Exercise Science Tuttle, Okla. (Tuttle)
Eric Cheray, Missouri State So. 2B 3.42 Psychology Topeka, Kan. (Seaman)
Tyler Dray, Southern Illinois Jr. LHP 3.91 Accounting Rockford, Ill. (Boylan Catholic)
Chad Hinshaw, Illinois State*% Sr. OF 3.64 Health Education Bloomington, Ill. (Normal Community)
Zac Johnson, Illinois State Sr. 3B 3.38 Biology Bloomington, Ill (Normal Community)
Kevin Kaczmarski, Evansville So. OF 3.31 Exercise Science Cary, Ill. (Prairie Ridge)
Koby Kraemer, Indiana State^%  Sr. 3B 3.94 Exercise Science Terre Haute, Ind. (South Vigo)
Austin Montgomerey, Southern Illinois% Sr. UT 3.47 Mechanical Engineering Marion, Ill. (Marion)
Devin Moore, Indiana State Sr. RHP 3.89 Business Springfield, Ill. (Pleasant Plains)
Brandon Peterson, Wichita State Jr. RHP 3.77 Criminal Justice Savage, Minn. (Burnsville)
Mike Tauchman, Bradley Sr. OF 3.25 Management/Administration Palatine, Ill. (William Fremd)
%2012 First Team; +2012 Honorable Mention; ^2011 First Team; *2011 Honorable Mention
Name, School Year Pos. GPA Major Hometown (High School)
Dylan Becker, Missouri State So. UT  3.80 Finance Leawood, Kan. (Shawnee Mission East)
Tyler Burgess, Missouri State So. LHP 3.56 Business Webb City, Mo. (Webb City)
Landon Curry, Indiana State So. OF  3.81 Business  Uniondale, Ind. (Norwell)
Tyler Fehringer, Indiana State Sr.  RHP 3.89 Special Education Lincoln, Neb. (Lincoln Northeast) 
Casey Gillaspie, Wichita State So. 1B  3.22 Exercise Science  Omaha, Neb. (Millard North)
Conor Smith, Missouri State  Jr.  1B  3.55 Cell & MolecularBiology Ballwin, Mo. (Parkway West)
Alex Staehely, Creighton^+  Sr.  SS  3.67 Accounting/Finance  Sugar Grove, Ill. (Benet Academy)
^2011 First Team; +2010 First Team