The first-ever recipient of the Honda Award of Merit in 1996 for outstanding achievement in women’s collegiate athletics, Dr. Charlotte West was a driving force for more than 40 years in the area of advancement of women’s sports.

On June 30, 1998, she retired from Southern Illinois University-Carbondale, after serving in the capacities of head coach, associate athletics director, interim athletics director and senior woman administrator during her 41 years with the Missouri Valley Conference-member institution. West coached five women’s sports from 1957-75 and, in 1982, was among the first group of women inducted into the SIUC Athletics Hall of Fame.

During her tenure at SIUC, she became the first female member of the National Association of Collegiate Directors of Athletics (NACDA) and later served on the organization’s board of directors. West was also a president of the Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women (AIAW). In 1991, she was presented with the Administrator of the Year Award by the National Association of Collegiate Women Administrators. West also received the Administrator of the Year Award, given by the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association.

2000 Mary Ellen Hill, Bradley Matt Cobb, UNI
2001 Jackie Stiles, Missouri State Matt Renn, Indiana State
2002 Stacia Beste, Illinois State Chrysanthos Papachrysantou, Southern Illinois
2003 Tam Hart, Bradley Christian Goy, Illinois State
2004 Jill Arganbright, UNI Christopher Hollinden, Evansville
2005 Jessica Crowder, Indiana State Brad Canada, Bradley
2006 Elizabeth Meyers, Wichita State John Nay, Indiana State
2007 Katie Martin, Missouri State Dylan Schmidt, Wichita State
2008 Sara Lungren, Wichita State Eitan Barbalat, Bradley
2009 Brooke Demo, Wichita State Bryan Mullins, Southern Illinois
2010 Stacey Miller, Illinois State Scott Keeney, Indiana State
2011 Tonya Nero, Wichita State Scott Krapf, Illinois State
2012 Audacia Moore, Wichita State Heath Melugin, Missouri State
2013 Jacqui Kalin, UNI Lucas Cherry, Southern Illinois
2014 Anna Stinson, Illinois State Adam McDonnell, UNI
2015 Kalyn Harker, Southern Illinois Alen Salibasic, Drake
2016 Ashley Rosch, Illinois State Jacob Hendren, Illinois State